DIY: Distressed Jean Shorts My Way

Hello loves ! So this week we dive into the world of DIY. I always love exploring and figuring out cost effective ways of doing things. I have been doing diy’s for 4 years now and though I’m not a pro, I can certainly say I enjoy doing them. 

So those of you who are new, Diy stands for Do It Yourself. And there are a lot of things out there that you can try your hand at. I love Pinterest ideas, I pick them up and make them my own. So I made shorts out of an old pair of Jean. And I do know there are a lot of tutorials out there , they leave us confused. So I’m here to make this easy for all of us 

What you need: 

1. An old pair of jeans 

2. Scissors

3. Chalk 

4. Tweezers

Step 1:

Lay out your Jean on some old newspapers, this way you wouldn’t make a mess later. Cut out some length of the Jean so we can work with them easily. 

Step 2: 

Using the chalk now mark out the line where you will be cutting. Now always remember that you need to make a diagonal line downwards towards the crotch area. So we start off with a high mark and taper it down , just like in this image . Repeat on both sides. 

Step 3: 

Now we need to make sure that we give your back enough space , so we need to cut it in a semi-circular line. This is very simple, all you need to do is cut out the first part of the Jean as per the chalk drawing, next create a small slit for the back half and follow the line but only in a semi circle 

Step 4: 

Repeat on either sides. Now you can go shorter if you feel that you are not happy with the length. You do you.So once you are happy, We will move on to create Distresses in them. 

To create them we first need to create small slits in any part of the Jean that you would like. Then using a tweezer, pull out the strands. If you do not have a tweezer you can always throw them in the wash and they will destroy themselves. You can create horizontal or vertical ones

Step 5:

For the bottom part you can either fold them or pull out the threads using the tweezer or more cost effective is throwing them to the washer. 

That’s it!! So easy right? 

Thie entire project  cost me a mere INR 35 ! All you need is time and will sweethearts ❤

Hope you liked this article. Follow me for more. Make sure you also follow me on Instagram and Snapchat . Until next time – keep it stylish 😋

Leave a Reply

